CHARITY CHRISTMAS CARDS ON SALE
Until 4 December 2021
The Tenterden Museum is open for the sale of Charity Christmas cards, stocking fillers, books by local authors & gifts from the gift shop. Open every day except Sunday to 4 December, 11am to 4pm. White you are at the Museum have a look around the lovely Museum displays (it's free while the Museum is open for Christmas card sales)
SPECIAL EXHIBITIONS & COLLECTIONS!
- Our Reserve Collection is now on display with hundreds of items never seen before.
- See 70+ pictures in our new Picture Gallery on the stairs
- Special Exhibition : "Our Ever Changing High Street" featuring ‘Then & Now’ pictures, in-depth presentations and vintage artefacts
- New displays of Archaeological Finds and Building Materials and a motorbike!
- From Wood to Waves, a special exhibition - a journey through the Weald. Pop in and take a look, it's going to be a good one!
The Tenterden Museum is housed in a two-storey weather boarded building, one of the last representatives in Tenterden of a type of industrial building common in the area in the latter part of the 19th century. Opened in 1976, the Museum is housed in an attractive weatherboard building originally built in 1873 as a wagon store which later became a warehouse for Mr Hooks china business. Described in the deeds as "Plot of garden ground. Two stall stable and coach house with loft over and tool room by estimation 23 perches more or less"
Dip into 1,000 years of history with the help of our friendly volunteer stewards, and discover rich layers of history, architectural trends over the centuries, house or family histories. The museum enjoys a convenient position near the town's cafes and independent shops, bordering two car parks, one of which has toilets and a summertime coach park, all close to the Kent & East Sussex Railway. There is a shop full of Tenterden gifts. Exhibits show the history of Tenterden and the Cinque Ports, reflecting the rich history of the area. Including artefacts ranging from Tenterden's recently discovered 18th Century Tenterden Theatre wallpaper to a 1500 BC flint axe head. Interactive screens, an audio guide and clear interpretation of the eclectic collection means there is something for everyone.
NEW EXHIBITION - Our Ever-Changing High Street
See who Richard Bridge traded with on the High Street when he ran the Black Horse pub (now the William Caxton) in the late 1800s and see who runs those shops today. On display will be some of the goods, tools and equipment from some of the traders as well as glimpses of other eras. The special exhibition uses a set of receipts from the Black Horse to chart commerce in the town in the 1890s and looks at the High Street again in the 1930's,1960's and brings it up to date with the current occupiers of the premises. A fascinating exhibition with a wall-display, interactive presentations and period artifacts on display.
NEW EXHIBITION - 4th July to 14th August 2021
Celebrating 75 years of the Tenterden & District Motorcycle Club. To complement the birthday celebrations of TDMCC (7th to 8th August 2021), we will be running an exhibition that charts the history of the Club and its founder, Karl Pugh, and which will also celebrate some of the highlights from the last seventy-five years.
NEW EXHIBITION - 15 August to close
From Wood to Waves – a Journey through The Weald. Based on the poem by Nancy Gaffield accompanied by music from The Drift, this exhibition traces the impact of the changes that humans have had on the Weald through the ages. This thought-provoking piece challenges us to look at how we have interacted with our environment and what the outcomes have been.
EXHIBITION - THE 1960s HOME
The story of Tenterden & District in the 20th Century, starring the 1960s. The 1960s was decade of "Excitement Freedom and Promise". Tenterden Museum has transformed one of its exhibition areas to a 1960s home. Revive ~ Recall ~ Recapture your memories!
The story of the 1960's home: a lounge, kitchen and shed from a house in the 1960s. The house belongs to the Jarvis family. It began as a farm worker's cottage in the 1920s. It has been in the Jarvis family since it was built and recently Richard Jarvis and his wife Brenda moved in. Richard is an agricultural engineer and Brenda stays at home to look after then son Michael and their new baby Linda. They have thoroughly upgraded the house installing electricity throughout and creating an inside bathroom and toilet. Some of the original features, the fireplace in the lounge and the sink and taps in the kitchen have been retained but Richard and Brenda have decorated and furnished the place in a modern style to suit their tastes.
1900 TO 1990 DISPLAY BOARDS
Display boards showing life in Tenterden from 1900 to 1999. Interactive system: choose a decade and discover: In the News; In & Around Tenterden; Clubs and Societies; Family Stories; Movie Clips; Royal Occasions
We look forward to seeing you
There are hundreds of photographs held at Tenterden Museum, come and have a look. Photo: The White Lion Hotel in the 19 century.