Tenterden Archive Exhibition
Presented by: Tenterden Town Council and Tenterden & District Museum
Twin venues: TOWN HALL & MUSEUM
Friday, Saturday, Sunday
1-3 May 2020 POSTPONED until 2021
- Tenterden Town Hall, 24 High Street, Tenterden, Fri pre booked schools only; Sat&Sun 10am-4pm, £1 entry (children free) includes programme
- Tenterden Museum, Station Road, Tenterden 11am-4.30pm, £2 entry (children free)
Following on from the very successful archive exhibition in September 2019 this will be another opportunity to see the "Archives" - a three day exhibition peering into Town's past. An exhibition detailing Tenterden's unique history, archive photos and Town Council memorabilia
From the latest Town Council newsletter:
TENTERDEN CELEBRATES ITS CIVIC HISTORY
A fascinating glimpse into Tenterden’s rich and colourful history is promised with a three- day exhibition of the town’s archives and ceremonial regalia.
The two-centre exhibition is being staged at the Town Hall and Tenterden Museum from Friday 27-Sunday, 29 September.
Among the items on show at the Town Hall will be facsimile pages of the priceless Polychronicon, a 14th century chronicle of history and theology, translated from Latin. It was the first book in English published in the country, and printed by William Caxton in 1480 - the original of the document is kept at Canterbury Cathedral, and Caxton has long been associated with Tenterden.
Also on display will be the ceremonial robes and chains of office worn by Mayors of Tenterden dating back more than 100 years.
The exhibition will focus on about 150 photographs of the town, some well over 100 years old, and a reminder of Tenterden’s bucolic past.
More unusual items include….
■ Memorabilia from the old Edwards Brewery, once located at the rear of The Vine, from the collection of former councillor Henry Edwards;
■ Rare and interesting railway memorabilia loaned by the Colonel Stephens Railway Museum and the Kent & East Sussex Railway.
■ Press cuttings of a pageant staged by Homewood School in 1949, and
■ A presentation blacksmith’s hammer, presented to the town ‘smithy’ on his retirement in 1920. The old forge and associated buildings are now occupied by semi-detached houses, the oak and pine shop and Badsha Indian restaurant.
Visitors to the Tenterden Museum in Station Road can discover…..
■ The elaborate and colourful robes worn by Stanley Day at the Queen’s coronation in 1953
– as the Mayor of Tenterden he received an invitation to attend as a Baron of the Cinque Ports, a role held today by our current Mayor Cllr Jean Curteis.
■ A plaster bust of Samuel Tilden, scion of a celebrated Tenterden family, who became Governor of New York in 1874, and almost became the 19th President of the United States two years later. He won the popular vote by more than 200,000 and it looked as if he would win the electoral vote as well. But after much controversy, Rutherford B.Hayes was elected President instead.
■ A drum made in 1798 for the Cinque Ports Volunteers, Tenterden’s militia, ready to take up arms against a threatened invasion by Napoleon’s armies.
■ Hop tokens, the currency given by local farmers to hop-pickers in the early-to-mid 20th century, which could only be spent in certain shops and pubs, and….
■ Artefacts from the town’s Fire Brigade and Police, including a cat o’ nine tails for dispensing summary justice to local villains!