Tenterden Town Council

Tenterden Town Council
24 High Street
Tenterden, Kent TN30 6AN
United Kingdom

Town Hall office open to the public: Mon & Thurs 9am-1pm; Tues/Wed/Fri: 9am-3.30pm


COVID UPDATE.  The Town Hall is currently closed to the public but all the staff are either working remotely from home or are working at the Town Hall. Normal office hours apply, Tel: 01580 762271. Committee meetings which are open the public are currently operating via Zoom. If you wish to "attend" a Zoom meeting please send an email to townhall@tenterdentowncouncil.gov.uk 

Tenterden Town Council is the local council responsible for the town of Tenterden. The Town Council serves as the main link between the people of Tenterden and the district authority, Ashford Borough Council.

The Town Council’s central role is to act in the interest of the whole community by making decisions and recommendations to improve quality of life and the environment. Consulting and listening to the residents to understand their needs, their wishes and their concerns is an essential aspect of the Council’s work often working in partnership with other organisations, including the voluntary and community sector.

Tenterden Town Council is a member of the Confederation of the Cinque Ports; Tenterden is a limb of Rye, which is a head port. 
Tenterden Town Council News
Officers and Staff
Town Clerk: Phil Burgess
Deputy Town Clerk: Claire Gilbert
Accounts Clerk: Julie McCollum
Admin Assistant: Sharon Smith
Admin Assistant: Lesley Owers
Town Co-ordinator: Keli Nolan-Lyons, Town Centre and Tourism Coordinator
Site Maintenance Manager: David Bourner
Maintenance Team Worker:  Andy Corcoran
Maintenance Worker: Roger Finniss
Sergeant at Mace: Malcolm Winter 
Town Councillors 

There are 16 Town Councillors who are unpaid local people and are elected by the local people. These volunteers put themselves forward for election to represent the community and give their time freely and willingly for the benefit of the whole town.

Tenterden is divided into four wards:

  • St Michaels
  • Tenterden South
  • Tenterden North
  • Tenterden West

St Michaels Ward (5 councillors)
Vic Cole
Jean Curteis
Harry Hickmott
Ken Mulholland
Pam Smith

Tenterden South Ward (4 councillors)
John Crawford
Amy Gardner
Callum Knowles
Lisa Lovelidge
Tenterden North Ward (5 councillors)
Mike Carter
Sue Ferguson
Justin Nelson
Roger Quinton
Alan Sugden
Tenterden West Ward (2 councillors)
Catherine Walder
Russell Parkin

Ashford Borough Council Ward Members
North Ward: Paul Clokie, OBE, Conservative
South Ward: Callum Knowles, Conservative
St Michaels Ward: John Link, Conservative
Rolvenden & West Ward: Kate Walder, Independent

Kent County Councillor
Mike Hill, OBE, Conservative 
Member of Parliament
Damian Green MP, Conservative 
Tenterden Town Council
Tenterden Town Council
24 High Street
Tenterden Kent TN30 6AN
United Kingdom
Tenterden Town Council Tenterden Town Council
Facebook Twitter Instagram

Register for the My Tenterden newsletter