Tenterden Christmas Lights - The Tenterden Illuminations

Tenterden High Street
Tenterden, Kent TN30 6AN
United Kingdom

Suitable for Children
Y

Event Dates and Times
Monday, 11 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Tuesday, 12 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Wednesday, 13 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Thursday, 14 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Friday, 15 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Saturday, 16 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Sunday, 17 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Monday, 18 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Tuesday, 19 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Thursday, 21 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Friday, 22 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Saturday, 23 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Sunday, 24 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Monday, 25 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Tuesday, 26 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Wednesday, 27 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Thursday, 28 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Friday, 29 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Saturday, 30 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Sunday, 31 December 2017
3:30 PM  -
Monday, 1 January 2018
3:30 PM  -
Tuesday, 2 January 2018
3:30 PM  -
Wednesday, 3 January 2018
3:30 PM  -
Thursday, 4 January 2018
3:30 PM  -
Friday, 5 January 2018
3:30 PM  -
Description

The Tenterden Christmas Lights ~ The Tenterden Illuminations
Well worth a visit

2017-18 dates: from Friday 24 November 5.30pm to after Christmas, 12th night
 

For the best display of Christmas Lights in Kent, drive along the High Street avenue of trees after dark to see the stunning Tenterden Christmas Lights. Every afternoon at about 3.30pm the Christmas lights adorning the high street trees are switched on, and along with beautiful small Christmas trees above many of the High Street shops, makes an amazing display until 12 midnight every day.

For the quietest viewing we suggest you come along after 7pm. Suggestion, after your drive by, park your car (the car parks are free after 6pm) and pop into one of our lovely pubs or restaurants for a meal and then walk the full length of the high street to gaze at the twinkling lights from ground level. Beautiful.

 
THE CHRISTMAS LIGHTS
The Tenterden Christmas Lights are organised by Tenterden Town Council and other groups in the town.
 
The Town Council install and light the majority of the High Street trees (the avenue of trees), selected large trees in the central part of the High Street, selected trees on the Recreation Ground, the Fairings and East Cross Gardens, and Coombe Lane. There are Christmas trees at West Cross, the Fairings, Fat Ox Green, and outside the Town Hall sponsored by different businesses and groups.
 
The Tenterden Chamber of Commerce install and light the small Christmas trees above the High Street shop windows.
 
The Tenterden Town Christmas Tree outside the Town Hall is donated by Hole Park Estates in Rolvenden every year to the Tenterden Rotary Club for the town of Tenterden and is decorated by the Rotary Club with help from Scott Mitchell and his team from Mitchell Highways. In 2017 the West Cross Christmas tree decorations were sponsored by the William Caxton pub, the Recreation Ground Christmas tree by Philberts Estate Agents, and the Fat Ox Green by Cllr Ken Mulholland. These three Christmas trees were donated by DJ Hook.
 
Ashford Borough Council contribute to the cost of the Christmas Lights every year. 
 
 

Photos: Lewis Brockway

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations

 

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations

 

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations

 

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations

 

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations

 

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations

 

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations

 

Tenterden Christmas Lights - Tenterden Illuminations




Video
Map
Address
View Count 2,458
Register for the My Tenterden newsletter
The Tenterden app
Register for the My Tenterden newsletter