Musical Memories
27 March 2018 10:45 AM - 12:00 PM

Highbury Hall
Highbury Lane
Tenterden, Kent TN30 6LE
United Kingdom

Suitable for Children
N

Event Dates and Times
Tuesday, 19 December 2017
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 9 January 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 16 January 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 23 January 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 30 January 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 6 February 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 13 February 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 20 February 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 27 February 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 6 March 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 13 March 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 20 March 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 27 March 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Tuesday, 3 April 2018
10:45 AM  - 12:00 PM
Description

Musical Memories
Highbury Hall, Tenterden
Every Tuesday 10.45am - 12noon
Coffee/tea reception followed by singing, everyone is welcome
Sixth form music students will be taking part in leading some of the singing on alternate weeks.

The involvement of youth in this project is a vital key in our mission to help make Tenterden ‘Dementia Friendly’ - as the mission needs to involve all the generations. It is hoped that they will bring a new energy and vibrant warmth in this music therapy with carers and those diagnosed with dementia.

Science has already proven that music - and particularly singing :

  • releases endorphins in the body, lifting the spirit and feeling of well-being - not only of those living with dementia, but also the mood of the family carers who so often can feel tired, overwhelmed and depressed as the disease takes hold of their loved one
  • Improves the verbal recall connections, where words had otherwise been ‘lost’ and hard to remember
  • Music can be associated with events and special occasions in our past - and therefore helps to recall memories - both happy and sad. It can be very beneficial for people to connect with the full range of their emotions through the ‘safe place’ of music and song. The feeling of well being can last for many hours beyond the music session itself

We are delighted to be able to provide this opportunity in Tenterden on a weekly basis. There is no need to book or reserve a space - folk are just invited to drop in on Tuesdays at 10.45. A notional charge of £1 per person will help contribute towards the overheads.

Tenterden Dementia Friendly Community




Map
Address
Advertiser
Tenterden Dementia Friendly Community
Tenterden Dementia Friendly Community

Tenterden Kent TN30
United Kingdom
Tenterden Dementia Friendly Community Tenterden Dementia Friendly Community

View Count 315
Register for the My Tenterden newsletter
The Tenterden app
Register for the My Tenterden newsletter